Sermons

Sermons | Continue the Conversation

At Knox-Metropolitan United Church, we consider what is said on Sunday to be the beginning of a conversation, never the final word… Here are our most recent spoken reflections. We’d love to hear your reflections, questions, or push-back: Share. Critique. Elaborate. All are welcome to join the Conversation.

October 10. 2021 | Thanksgiving Sunday | Life Within Life — The Flow of Meaning

October 3, 2021 | Sabbath Economics

September 26, 2021 | Don’t Trust a 2 Handed Biblical ‘Literalist’ — Jesus’ Challenge to Community Solidarity

September 12, 2021 | Discerning Wisdom’s Voice in the Clamour of Empire & Marketplace

September 5, 2021 | Humanizing Jesus 14th After Pentecost

August 29, 2021 | The Heart — Beyond Roles and Rules

August 22, 2021 | A Quiet Centre, Wrong that Feels So Strong, and Moving from a Duality of Despair to Perichoresis of Possibility

August 8, 2021 | Bread of Life

August 1, 2021 | Show Me You Love Me

Sunday, July 18, 2021 | Give Them Something to Eat: Horizontal Transcendence and Two Slips of Paper!

Sunday, July 11, 2021 | What do we mean when we say hope? Apathy, Action, and Whole-Heartedness!

Sunday, June 27, 2021 | Shock, Grief, and a Longing to See | A Reflection of Lament for this Day of Prayer

Sunday, June 20, 2021 | A Migrant Messiah in a World Yearning to be Home | Reflections for Refugee Sunday

Sunday, June 13, 2021 | A Sabbath Ethic-Nomics | A Dance of Recognition, Reverence, Regard, & Restraint

Sunday, June 6, 2021 | Celebrating the Ministry of Lumsden Beach Camp

Sunday, May 30, 2021 | Trinity Sunday

Sunday, May 23, 2021 | Pentecost Sunday

Sunday, May 16, 2021 | The Sixth Sunday After Easter

Sunday, May 9, 2021 | The Fifth Sunday After Easter

Sunday, May 2, 2021 | The Fourth Sunday After Easter

Sunday, April 25, 2021 | The Third Sunday After Easter

Sunday, April 18, 2021 | The Second Sunday After Easter

Sunday, April 11, 2021 | May We Grow Back, Not to What Was, but to What We Can Become

Sunday, April 4, 2021 | Easter Sunday Service

Sunday, March 28, 2021 | Again & Again, We Draw on Courage

Sunday, March 21, 2021 | Heart | The Fifth Sunday of Lent

Sunday March 14, 2021 | The Unseen Hand The Fourth Sunday of Lent

Sunday March 7, 2021| Again & Again, We Are Shown The Way | A Sermon for the Third Sunday of Lent

Sunday, February 21, 2021 | Again & Again God Meets Us| A Sermon for the First Sunday of Lent

Sunday, February 14, 2021 | The Divine Gift of Queer Love | Sermon for a Celebration of Becoming an Affirming Ministry

Sunday, February 7, 2021 | Encountering Jesus’ Tender Ethic of Tikkun Olam in the Gospel of Mark

Sunday, January 31, 2021 | Sabbath, a Day of Rest or a Day to Stay Awake?

Sunday, January 24, 2021 | That Awkward Moment when you Proclaim Divine Judgment, & Nineveh Repents

Sunday, January 17, 2021 | Reflections for Baptism of Jesus Sunday

Sunday, January 10, 2021 | First Sunday of Epiphany

Sunday, January 3, 2021 | Second Sunday after Christmas

Sunday, December 27, 2020 | First Sunday after Christmas | Those Who Dream Will Not Keep Silent

December 24, 2020 | Christmas Eve Sermon

Sunday, December 20, 2020 | Fourth Sunday of Advent | Those Who Dream … Who is Your Elizabeth?

Sunday, December 13, 2020 | Third Sunday of Advent | Those Who Dream… Sow Joy

Sunday, December 6, 2020 | Second Sunday of Advent | Those Who Dream… Prepare the Way

Sunday, November 29, 2020 | First Sunday of Advent | Those Who Dream… Stay Awake